Devolution in 15 seconds by Mohammad Asghar

To celebrate 15 years of devolution, Mohammad Asghar along with other Assembly Members try to sum up what devolution means to them, in just 15 seconds.

The 60 Members which make up the National Assembly for Wales first met in Plenary on 12 May 1999.

In 2006 the Government of Wales Act was passed. Which meant Wales had law making powers for the first time.

Wales introduced the ‘smoking in public places’ ban in 2007.

In 2008 the first ever Assembly Measure, the NHS Redress (Wales Measure), was passed in the Senedd.

School buses were made safer after the Assembly passed the 2011 Safety on Learner Transport Measure.

On 1 March 2006, the home of the Assembly, the Senedd, officially opened.  The Senedd was designed by world-renowned architect Richard Rogers.

In October 2011, Wales became the first country in the UK to introduce a requirement to  charge for carrier bags.

The ‘Yes’ vote in the 2011 referendum delivered enhanced powers for the Assembly.

As of May 2014, there have been 478 admissible petitions that have wither been considered, or are currently being considered.

The first Act of the Assembly was the National Assembly for Wales (official languages) Act 2012.

In 2012 Welsh and English were recognised as the official languages of the Assembly because of the Officials Languages Act.

In 2013 the Assembly passed the Human Transplantation Act.

In 2012 the Assembly welcomed its one millionth visitor to the Senedd.

In 2014 the Assembly teamed up with Microsoft to launch Welsh for Microsoft Translator.

Since 2007 the Assembly has passed 35 pieces of legislation in Wales.